For more detailed information about the history of the site of Gedling Country Park - please select the HERITAGE menu option.
Gedling Colliery closed down in 1991, and the area of the former colliery and its slag heaps reverted to scrub land. A variety of tree plantations were then established over the years, along with landscaping and drainage improvements. The scrub land and woodland has attracted a large variety of native fauna, birds and other animals, and has since developed into a beautiful 240 acre piece of countryside nestled in between Mapperley, Lambley and Gedling.
In 2014, Gedling Borough Council entered into a 25 year lease with the land owners and invested over £1m in developing the paths and entrances, and making a range of landscaping enhancements. The country park officially opened to the public at the end of March 2015 and later in 2015, the council purchased the land outright.
Further developments to the park will occur year-by-year as funds allow - and the following has occurred so far:
- In Autumn 2015, the Spring Lane car park was extended to support another 25 cars.
- In Winter 2015/16, new fencing was installed around selected areas to protect the ground nesting birds.
- In Autumn 2016, a new toilet block was installed near to the Spring Lane car park.
- October 2016, two new children's play areas are opened - one for toddlers and one for older children.
- April 2017, the first elements of the Memorial Garden opens - starting with a set of miner's ring.
- June 2017, a new visitor centre with a cafe, outside terrace and toilets open. "Café 1899" is so named to commemorate the year that the colliery was first developed. The Spring Lane car park now supports up to 75 cars.
- December 2017, the commemorative artwork in unveiled in the Memorial Garden.